Menu
More than 1,000 men have been tested by Check It. See if you're eligible. More Details
Meet the Check It Team

Staff

Gérard Gomes | (504) 495-8102 | ggomes@tulane.edu

Gérard Gomes joined Check It in 2016. Raised in Trinidad and Tobago, his first experience in New Orleans was Xavier University’s move in day 2005 while dropping his cousin off to college. He kept coming back and is now proud to call New Orleans home. Before working with Check it, he served in the U.S Peace Corps as a community health volunteer in Burkina Faso. Gérard holds a B.A in Biochemistry from the University of Richmond.

 

Nickey Wells | (504) 234-9617 | nwells3@tulane.edu

Nickey Wells is a native of New Orleans, Louisiana and has been at Tulane University since 2001. She loves working with her community, traveling, and experiencing new cultures.

 

 

Glenis Scott, Jr. | (504) 256-6703 | gscott5@tulane.edu

Glenis Scott, Jr. is a NOLA native. He received a B.S. in Public Health from Dillard University and an MPH in Global Community Health and Behavioral Sciences from Tulane University School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine. He enjoys smoothies, fish, and group activities.

 

 

Shannon Watson | (504) 289-4076 | swatson7@tulane.edu

Shannon Watson is from New Orleans, Louisiana and has a B.S. in Public Health from Tulane University. She is interested in reducing health disparities in disadvantaged populations and is excited to be a part of the Check it study.

 

 


 Research Assistants

Megan Clare Craig-Kuhn | mcraigkuhn@tulane.edu

Megan Clare Craig-Kuhn is the data manager for Check it. She is a second year doctoral student in Epidemiology. She completed a BA at Oberlin College and MPH coursework at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health.

 

 

Victoria Duong | vduong@tulane.edu

Victoria Duong is a second-year Master’s in Health Systems Management student from Seattle. She completed her undergraduate degree at University of Washington and aspires to work for a city or state HIV/STD program.

 

 

Stephanie Guzman | sguzman1@tulane.edu

Stephanie Guzman is a first-year Master’s in Public Health and Tropical Medicine student from New Jersey. She completed her Bachelor of Science at the College of William and Mary. She enjoys dancing, hiking and traveling.

 

 

Jake Hall | jhall20@tulane.edu

Jake Hall is a small town kid with big city dreams. After getting his B.S. Interdisciplinary Studies, he drove down to New Orleans to work on his MPH in Epidemiology, and get away from the snow. He spends his free time exploring the city and riding the streetcars.

 

 

Quinn Hill | qhill@tulane.edu

Quinn Hill is a first year Master’s in Public Health in Health Education and Communication student from St. Louis. She received her B.A. in International Studies from Spelman College. Quinn is excited to be working on Check It’s social marketing team during a time in the media landscape where digital marketing controls how health information travels.

 

Ryan Knight | rknight@tulane.edu

Ryan Knight is a Tulane student majoring in Public Health and Cell & Molecular Biology that has experience as a Pharmacy Technician in New Orleans. Although he grew up in Atlanta, he has a Creole background (NOLA East) & loves helping the black community in his second home.

 

 

Heather Larkin | hlarkin@tulane.edu

Heather Larkin fled snowy New York state to join the Epidemiology program at Tulane. She is interested in infectious diseases which disproportionately impact marginalized communities. She previously completed a BS in Molecular and Cell Biology and a MS in International Nutrition.

 

 

Emily Nguyen | enguyen3@tulane.edu

Emily Nguyen is from San Jose, California and is currently a medical student at Tulane University School of Medicine. She enjoys spending her free time outdoors and traveling.

 

 

Nneka Okeke | nokeke@tulane.edu

Nneka Okeke is from Oakland, CA. Before she joined Check It, she was a Global Health Fellow with KidsCareEverywhere in 2014. She enjoys graphic design, dancing, cooking, and traveling in her spare time.

 

 

Briana Sanders | bsanders1@tulane.edu

Briana Sanders is a first year Master’s in Public Health student with a concentration in Health Education and Communication. She was born and raised in Detroit, MI and received her B.S. from the University of Michigan in Chemical Science. In her spare time Briana likes to watch anime and shop.

 

 

 

Abhi Talajia | atalajia@tulane.edu

Abhi Talajia is  pursuing his Master’s degree in Public Health with a focus in Epidemiology. He was born in India and completed his Bachelor’s in Dental Surgery in 2014. Abhi has been a part of Check it since May 2017 and has been able to explore different parts of New Orleans and experience the culture that makes the city so unique.

 


 Senior Program Manager

Norine Schmidt, MPH  | nschmid1@tulane.edu 

Norine Schmidt moved to New Orleans 30 years ago and has been working in sexual and reproductive health for more than 20 of those years. Check it is one of her favorite projects because of the amazing Check it team, community partners and participants.

 

Principal Investigator

Patricia Kissinger, Ph.D. | kissing@tulane.edu  

Dr. Patty Kissinger is an infectious disease epidemiologist and a nurse.  She has worked both nationally and internationally for more than three decades in the field of HIV, sexually transmitted diseases, and women’s reproductive health in Africa, Haiti, and the US. She has published extensively on many topics about STIs and has been the lead researcher in numerous research studies.

Medical Investigator

David H. Martin, M.D. | dmarti6@tulane.edu

David H. Martin, M.D. is Professor Emeritus at Louisiana State University School of Medicine and Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology at Tulane SPHTM. He served as Chief of Infectious Diseases at LSU for nearly 20 years.

 


Getting Tested
Why get tested and what to expect.
I tested positive, now what?
Getting treated and telling your partners.
CheckIt Freshest
Find out more about Check it!